Things better forgotten

I cannot remember
the color of your eyes
or the feel of your skin
when I held onto your arms
and we walked with the wind

I cannot remember
how you would look at me
when we proclaimed love
and professed admiration
Just two unfulfilled souls
brimming with appreciation

I do not remember
your face in all its happiness and hope
A connection of lost counterparts
roped together by the words we spoke

I must not remember
the times we spent together
for worse and for better
just two of us
hanging on to broken pleasures

I will not remember
the first time I met her
in her elegance of good measures
a diamond in the rough
a tale of new treasures

I’ll do my best to forget her
To never again open our love letters
To never again inhabit the corners of my mind
and allow her to bury me alive if I ever let her

One thought on “Things better forgotten

Leave a comment