Wail

A helpless cry in nighttime sky
a silent howl in the eyes of an owl
a strange motive in darkness infesting
to awake my sleeping mind from its state of resting

Who do I hear from so far but so near?
Crying in the laughter of others so dear
a fear injected into this sound of worry
I scurry to the shutters to shut out the sound in a hurry

The wailing voice amidst voices so joyful
I stir in unease with my eyes so mindful
flipping on the switches to shake the night
the scream of woes disappearing into the lights

Leave a Reply

